Cuaichín Ghleann Neifín

This is David Power’s second album of unaccompanied uilleann piping. A native of Waterford, David is now back in Ireland after some years in New York, where he recorded his first album, ‘My Love is in America’. His first recording was critically acclaimed and displayed his mastery of his chosen instrument. Like his first CD, ‘Cuaichín Ghleann Neifín’ exploits the full possibilities of the instrument, using drones and regulators subtly but freely to accompany the chanter. The music included covers a wide range of the available traditional dance measures. He also displays his comfort and ability on several slow airs, tunes that are the melodies of ancient Gaelic songs, and which require knowledge of the song tradition to play properly.


1. The Donegal Reel , The Dublin Reel
2. Eibhleanóir a Rún
3. 1st of May Hornpipe, An Sean Veist ’S an Carbhat
4. Polly put the Kettle On, Miss Johnson
5. Cuachín Ghleann Neifín
6. Friars Britches, An Rógaire Dubh
7. Rodney’s Glory, The Leitrim Thrush
8. Casadh an tSúgáin, Garryowen
9. The Wise Maid, The Limestone Rock
10. An Búnan Buí
11. The Road to Lisdoonvarna, The Five Mile Chase
12. Sliabh Geal gCúa na Féile
13. Colonel Frazer, The Collier’s Reel

Availability: In Stock



Tell a Friend